Lamp Makeover

And the worst blogger of the year goes to—-Rachel!  I knew that when I started this blog it would be a challenge for me to post regularly.  I have lots of thoughts but am not great about putting them into actual words.  So I thought I’d dive right back in with a little post about a couple of lamps that I’m making over for my bedroom.

One lamp was my grandma’s and another was from a garage sale.  So free and practically free—that’s my kind of bargain:)Image

First step was to clean them and sand them a little so the primer would stick.  I don’t always do this (well I always clean them) but I really want these to hold up and not get nicked.  I decided to try out liquid sander.Image 

It seemed to do a nice job of getting any grime off and it was a lot less messy than sanding.  Two thumbs up from me.  Next I taped off parts I didn’t want paint on, like the cord and the light bulb sockets, and pulled out my trusty spray primer.

Image

and TaDa!  Looking better already:)

Image

Finally I used a can of spray paint to transform these plain jane lamps into something fabulous.  After about 3 light coats they look like this.

Image

After I add the matching lamp shades and have them in my room, I’ll show you the finished finished photo.  But I’m loving them so far!

And what do I do while I wait for paint to dry between coats?  Well I take pictures of “the coach”.

Image

Coach had just sent out the medic to take care of the “injured” player.

Image

And that, ladies and gentlemen, are the details of transforming a couple of old lamps.

**please note, no children, football players, fake football players, animals, plant life or husbands were injured in the process of this makeover.

***ok to be honest, a few bugs might have been painted. 

3 thoughts on “Lamp Makeover

  1. I may have to report you for the few painted bugs… hee hee! Love the lamps! I can’t wait to see them with the shades on.

penny for your thoughts...

