My Reads

What is on your summer reading list?  I don’t usually have a specific list but I do want to read The Great Gatsby sometime before I see the movie.  I also want to read Almost Heaven by Chris Fabry.  I listened to an online discussion of the book and it sounded very interesting.

Here are some books that I’ve read recently.

I really enjoyed:

Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle

Laugh out loud funny.  I promise you will love it.

Image

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

A curious 11 year old girl who lives in England.  And she loves chemistry.  This book was written for me.

Image

The book club I’m in just finished Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese.  This book had mixed reviews.  About half the people loved it and the other half didn’t.  I was in the half that didn’t.

Image

A few easy but interesting reads:

The Eighth Day by John Case

A thriller mystery.  This book is our book club pick for the month of June.  I found it to be a good summer read.

Image

Whispers from Yesterday by Robin Lee Thatcher

This book was recommended to me by a librarian.  It wasn’t a favorite but it wasn’t horrible either.  I was glad for something different to read which is why I asked.  If you don’t know what to read, ask your librarian! 🙂

whispers from yesterday

I’m currently reading The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin.  I picked this book up in the children’s section.  I usually grab books from there when I want a quicker read.  It is intriguing and good thus far!

Image

What are you currently reading?

5 thoughts on “My Reads

  1. I like the Bradley series. I just finished the latest one. Because I don’t currently want to think I’m retreading The Dresden Files.

  2. “Cutting For Stone”–Love it! Went shopping w/3 friends and “overheard” a gentleman say to another gentleman what a waste the new movie “The Great Gatsby” was–especially Leonardo Dicaprio. For us older gals, didn’t Robert Redford make a “Great Gatsby” movie???

    • I tried watching the Robert Redford version on Netflix and couldn’t get into it. Maybe I’ll like it after I read the book since I’ve heard it is good. I like Baz Luhrmann movies so I’m guessing I’ll probably like the new movie. But it could very well be a generational thing.

penny for your thoughts...

