Tag. Really, Real.

On my dad’s side of the family we have this thing.  When we’re all sitting around and you need to get up but you don’t want anyone to take your spot, you hit the seat and say, “Tag.  Really.  Real.”  Everyone knows that they can’t sit there.  And if someone new comes in the room and tries to sit there, they will be told that so-and-so tagged it really real.  I have no idea who started this rule.  But it works as sure as the sun comes up in the morning.  Just ask anyone.

 

Image

My oldest had his 7th birthday a week and a half ago.  Today I took him to his school for the first day of first grade.  When I woke him up I said, “First day of school!  First day of school! Wake up!  Wake up!  Come on! First day of school!”  <name that movie>

He corrected me and told me I should say it was the first day of first grade because his first day of school was waaay back in preschool when he was a mere 4 years old. Okay then buddy.

So on the first day (of whatever grade they are entering) our school allows the parents to walk kids to their classrooms.  Ben saw a friend he knew and proudly led him to their classroom.  Teachers were saying Hi Ben and Good morning Ben!  This wasn’t like last year where he knew no one.  People knew him and were happy to see him.

I was thinking, “ok! This is going great!”

wrong.

No sooner did he get to the classroom, his eyes started watering.  He didn’t want to stand in line to talk to his teacher.  And then the tears started and there were tight hugs and proclamations that he didn’t want to stay and please to take him home.

<sigh>  heart breaking.  really horrible moment as a mom.  <insert super sad face here>

Thankfully, a friend in his class has a mom who works at the school.  She started talking to him and took him by the hand and led him into the class so that I could make a hasty retreat.  Mrs. Linderwell–you rock!

Now I’m sure he calmed down.  I’m sure he is having a great day.  I can’t wait to hear his stories when I pick him up in a couple of hours.  And I’m really praying tomorrow works out more smoothly.

But to my big little guy–I want you to know that I will always come back to pick you up and bring you to your home.  To your saved spot.

I promise.  Tag.  Really, Real.

5 thoughts on “Tag. Really, Real.

  1. First days are so hard…..too bad there are so many first days in life!!!! I am sure he will adjust…he has you and Bill to help!!!

penny for your thoughts...

