A Very Hungry Caterpillar

005

My kids aren’t exactly what you’d call super outgoing.  Oh sure, Alex is a riot.  And Emily will probably be considered an extrovert when she gets older.  But when around people they don’t know too well, they tend to clam up.  Ben is the most reserved out of the three and if he’s nervous he tends to just ignore the person who is talking to him.  We’re working on that.

My child loves learning about animals. I should have caught on to this when every book he brought home from Kindergarten was an animal fact book. Or when he developed a slight obsession with Wild Kratts. Or when he wanted me to read every single word on every single sign at the zoo.

You know, as a parent, you Say that you want your child to develop into his own person–into a one of a kind individual.

But, be forewarned, they inevitably do and I’m finding out it probably will Not be what you would have predicted–so hang on for the ride!

Because me, not so much of an animal lover. at all. And my kids have really wanted a pet. But we got rid of our dog after my second child was born because it was too much for me. And we can’t have cats because I’m allergic. I thought about getting them some fish but then didn’t. Because did I mention I don’t really care for animals?

And yet, here I am today to introduce you to the one and only Mr. Sam Stripey Black.

caterpillar

He currently resides in a Kroger potato salad container. He is well loved by 4 out of 5 people in this house. He has an older brother (Stripey Ben Black) that is living at school.

So we finally have a pet and my kids couldn’t be more thrilled. They are fascinated by his chomping away on the leaves, by his poo, and even by his dancing. don’t ask. I just don’t even know.

This mom is secretly (ok, maybe not so secretly) rolling her eyes. And yet, I’m so proud of the kid that Ben is becoming. Want to know something about monarch caterpillars? Just ask him, he’ll tell you. And that is a big deal.

4 thoughts on “A Very Hungry Caterpillar

  1. I do not know where the name came from. There is a new kid in Ben’s class named Sam and my brother’s name is Sam. He has another friend in Kokomo named Sam. Perhaps he thought all good things should be named Sam?

  2. I am glad to hear that I am not the only mom that really doesn’t like pets. I don’t have a problem with other people’s pets, I just don’t want to take care of one myself 🙂

penny for your thoughts...

