Movie Review: Stranger Than Fiction

My husband and I love to watch movies, but we don’t always agree on our favorites.  We don’t live close to a theater and so our movie collection has grown a bit over the years and we tend to watch a lot of movies at home.  We have this thing we do when deciding what to watch.  He picks three movies and I choose one of the three to watch.  Next time, I pick three movies and he chooses one.  It is better than both of us staring into the cabinet and naming random movies only to have the other person say no to every single one.

005

Yes, I came up with the solution.  Yes, that is really how my mind works.

So the other night we ended up watching Stranger than Fiction.  Have you seen it?  Will Ferrell plays, Harold Crick, an IRS agent whose life is turned upside down when he starts hearing the voice of a lady who is narrating his life.  I know.  How strange.  But it is such a great movie.  It is funny–but not crazy Will Ferrell funny.  Just wry sense of humor funny.  And it is heart warming and intriguing.

This movie is filled with great actors–Will Ferrell, Emma Thompson, Dustin Hoffman, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Queen Latifah.  And I love the dialogue and the subtle one liners.

For instance:

Harold Crick:  “What’s wrong with you?  Hey.  I don’t wanna eat nothing but pancakes.  I wanna live.  Who in their right mind in a choice between pancakes and living chooses pancakes?”

Jules Hilbert:  “Harold, if you’d pause to think.  I believe you’d realize that that answer’s inextricably contingent upon the type of life being led and, of course, the quality of the pancakes.”

You should watch this movie if you haven’t seen it…or if it has been awhile since you’ve seen it.  It will make you smile, laugh, and–depending on how emotional you are–maybe even cry.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Stranger Than Fiction

    • you’re welcome 🙂 I just thought of another favorite line when Harold tells the guy he works with, “I think I’m being followed.” And the guy says, “How can you be followed? You’re not moving.”

      oh I love it.

penny for your thoughts...

