Forward!

I was packing up the seasonal decorations and came upon my large framed chalkboard I’d written on for Christmas.

003

My husband and I were brainstorming what verse we could put on it to start out the new year.  I knew I wanted something that would remind me of a fresh start but nothing was coming to me.

Last year was a hard year for me. I’m not sure it even started out difficult, but summer ended and I felt as if life hit a wall. A really tall brick wall.

Do you wonder about New Year’s Resolutions and the futility of it all because who keeps those anyway?  Do you ever feel like your well laid plans are crumbling around you? Do you ever feel as if you have lost total and complete control?

You know the story of the footprints in the sand, right? You think you are alone but as the story goes, you only see one set of footprints because Jesus is carrying you.  Do you ever feel like He could carry you a little more gently?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I came across this blog post by Ann Voskamp. I encourage you to read it. It made me cry in a good way and reminded me that we are called to keep moving forward. To press on no matter how rough the journey.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes from her post:

“We are all going to botch it some days. We all sometimes get the notes wrong. But the song only goes wrong — when we keep thinking back to the wrong notes.  When a piece starts to fall apart — fall forward. Fall forward into the next bar. Moving forward is what makes music.”

“And the truth is: Your New Year doesn’t need to-do lists like it needs to-God-be-the-glory lists!”

“The moving forward always happening in the relief that
all the guilt is covered by His grace.”

“Failing? What feels likes losing is really gaining experience. Forward!

Falling apart? Fall into whatever. comes. next. Forward!

Fearful? Fear is always the first step of faith. Forward!”

“And in a fallen world, I fall forward into a New Year, and I fall forward into Christ’s safe arms and it is safe to trust. He is safe to trust.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For me, I sometimes feel like He’s carrying me on his back the way my husband does with my little girl. Bouncing her around as much as she can stand it. Her hair flying this way and that. Her body tossing to and fro. But she squeals with joy not terror. It must be something about trust. She is holding tightly to daddy but she knows that he has a tighter grip on her and will not let her go.

They fly up the stairs and down the stairs.  They careen through doorways.  All the while, I can hear her yell, “Forward!”

press towards the mark

2 thoughts on “Forward!

penny for your thoughts...

