My Reads: January 2014

One of my goals this year is to record every book that I read. I’ve done this in the past where I make a list and then, inevitably, I lose the paper that I was writing on. Or I misplace the book journal I started and then don’t write down the books I’ve read for a month or two and when I eventually find the journal I decide it isn’t worth it anymore. And on and on. Yes, I have some serious issues.

So. goodreads. I’ve had a goodreads account for a few years but decided to actually use it this year. I have a bookshelf titled ‘2014’ and I go in, type up the book I finished, give it so many stars out of five and type in the date I finished the book.

So far, I’ve recorded them all. And at the end of (or the beginning of the next in this case) every month, I’ll share the books that I’ve read.

Enough gabbing. Here they are.

Jan 2014

Wonder by R.J. Palacio, Waiting For the Moon by Kristin Hannah, Between Sisters by Kristin Hannah, The Rook by Steven James, The Bungalow by Sarah Jio, Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson, Harry Potter #1 and #2 by J.K. Rowling, An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, Wife After God by Jennifer Smith, Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers

Favorite:  Wonder by R.J. Palacio.  I gave it 4/5 stars.  A children’s book that I didn’t want to end.  I loved getting to know Auggie and his family.

Least Favorite:  Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers.  I gave it 2/5 stars.  The first time that I would actually recommend the movie before the book.  It wasn’t even a bad book, it just didn’t grab my attention.

What did you read last month?  Anything that you loved?

2 thoughts on “My Reads: January 2014

  1. Wow! You read a LOT of books in January. Is that typical or because of the snow?

    I feel like I’ve seen the cover of “Wonder” around a lot… I’ll have to check it out.

    • It is probably because of the snow. I do tend to go in spurts though where I’ll read 3 books in two days and then not read anything for a week. I think you’ll like Wonder a lot. Julie recommended it to me.

penny for your thoughts...

