My Reads: March 2014

march 2014

HP&the Gobletof Fire by J.K. Rowling, Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani, To Be A Slave by Julius Lester, Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, HP&the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling, Messenger by Lois Lowry, Son by Lois Lowry, Glitter and Glue by Kelly Corrigan, Anomaly by Krista McGee, A Wind in the Door by Madeleine L’Engle, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

March was a month of great books.  I enjoyed reading every single one but I will be consistent and still pick a Most and Least favorite.  Although the most favorite category will be difficult.  I’m rereading Harry Potter so obviously I like those books. Big Stone Gap is also a reread for book club. I was the one who chose it so I like it a lot, too. I loved Lois Lowry’s series and Anomaly and Fangirl were both read in one day because I couldn’t put them down.  And if you have a daughter or are a daughter (and maybe even if you have a mom…so that includes boys, too), you should read Glitter and Glue.  See.  It is not easy for me to choose.  But I will.

Least Favorite:  A Wind in the Door–this is the second book in the Wrinkle in Time series.  This one was a little hard for me to get into and it kind of made my head hurt a bit with all of the thinking it required of me.  I also thought it wasn’t as good as A Wrinkle in Time.  With all that being said, I still really enjoyed it.  L’Engle has a way of pushing the boundaries of my imagination that I love.

Most Favorite:  To Be a Slave–I’m picking this one because I think everyone should read it.  It is a Newbery Honor book and the author goes back and forth with his own commentary and excerpts of interviews of former slaves.  It is a book not easily forgotten.

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what did you think of them?  Did you read an unforgettable book in March?  I’d love to add it to my list so please share!

 

2 thoughts on “My Reads: March 2014

penny for your thoughts...

