My Reads: August 2014

August 2014

I am certain that this month and all of it’s busyness brought about the lowest number of books read by me so far this year.  But what I lacked in quantity, I really made up for in quality.  I definitely enjoyed each of the books read this month.

Least Favorite Book:  The Midwife–I think this book was well written and I gave it 3 stars out of 5 on goodreads.  I also learned a lot about midwifery.  The subject just isn’t a high interest of mine.  Yes, I have 3 children.  No, I am not obsessive about pregnancy, birth, babies, etc.  I’m sure I’m not the only one 🙂

Most Favorite Book:  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe–Kind of a no brainer of a win.  I listened to this on cd again with the kids.

Runners-up:  The Nesting Place is a home decorating/advice book written by one of my favorite bloggers The Nester.  If you are afraid of putting nail holes in your walls or picking paint colors then this book is for you.  The House Girl is about a slave who paints with the lady of the house.  Many years later there is a debate over who really painted the famous works of art.  The book goes back and forth between the past and present day (I love when authors do that).  Orphan Train also goes back and forth between the past and present.  It is based on real life events during the turn of the century.  In NYC, many children living on the streets were rounded up and sent on trains out west to be adopted by people who wanted children to help on their farms, with their businesses, etc.  Some were adopted by loving families but many were not.  If not for Mr. C.S. Lewis, Orphan Train would have been my top pick for this month.

What was your favorite read in August?

2 thoughts on “My Reads: August 2014

    • Oh Steph–I get a case of the “I don’t like holes in my wallsitish” on occasion, too. I think it is a common illness 🙂
      I don’t think the library has it–I borrowed it from Rachel.

penny for your thoughts...

