a literal sleeping beauty

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014My mom says the first movie I saw in the theater was Sleeping Beauty.

sleeping beauty

I don’t remember going, but mom says my aunt took me when I was 3 years old. Ironically, I fell asleep during the movie.  Not much has changed.  My husband and I took the kids to see Planes: Fire & Rescue a couple of months ago and I slept through a good 45 minutes of it.  I later asked William about the scene I missed and he said he wasn’t sure what happened since he slept through that part.  We’re awesome parents.

I wouldn’t put Sleeping Beauty on the top of my ‘most favorite movie’ list, but it triggers such a great memory that always makes me smile.  About the same time that I was sleeping through movies, I was a huge fan of The Cat in the Hat.

cat in the hat

My poor grandmother was so sick of me asking to read this book that she would try to jump ahead in the story by skipping pages.  I had it memorized and always caught her.  She then tried to hide the book up on a high shelf but I would climb up and find it.  I guess my obsession with books started early.

This book was one of the first children’s books that I purchased when I was pregnant for Ben.  It is a well-loved book in our home and has been read many times, but I’m not sure it can compete with Elephant & Piggie.  That’s ok–I believe that Dr. Seuss and Mo Willems can coexist peacefully in the same household.

When I wasn’t taking a nap in the movie theater or climbing a bookshelf to get to my favorite book, I could be found at home listening to the radio.  We lived in a small trailer for the first three years of my life and I slept on the couch in the living room.  At one end of the couch was the radio/tape player.  I remember waking up many Saturday mornings to listen to Uncle Charlie on the Children’s Bible Hour and I would hear this song:

“Boys and girls for Jesus–this our earnest prayer.

Boys and girls for Jesus–at home, at school, at play, and everywhere.

We’ll tell the world of life in Jesus–He is all our song.

There is all you need in Jesus–won’t you come along?”

I had to google the lyrics to that song because I couldn’t remember them.  But when I found them and read them, I can clearly hear the children on the radio program singing and I feel like snuggling up on a couch and listening to my favorite Saturday morning radio programs.  I don’t know if Children’s Bible Hour is even on the radio anymore…I know it isn’t broadcast on our local station.  I wish that my children would have had a chance to listen to that bit from my childhood, but it may never happen.  I will settle with pulling them close and grabbing a couple of books (maybe even The Cat and the Hat) and reading to them.  Right after that we might pop in Sleeping Beauty and watch it together.  After all, this mama needs a nap.

8 thoughts on “a literal sleeping beauty

  1. I read this about an hour ago and have been singing the Uncle Charlie song ever since. LOVED him!!
    Ironic that your first movie title was Sleeping Beauty…dontcha think? haha!

  2. Oh how I remember the excitement I thought I would bring into your little body by going to the movies for the first time. Your mom and I kept talking about this movie being a “classic” in the mind of Grandpa K, although we didn’t remember seeing it, so we were happy to watch it with a perfectly behaved 3 year old–regardless if you were sleeping or not.
    Thank goodness the popcorn was good!

penny for your thoughts...

