germs was the dog I always wanted

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.Ā  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014

“I take him to church but nobody ever sees
The little shaggy spotted dog sitting on my knee
He’s learning bible verses and he loves the happy songs
But he often falls asleep when the sermon is too long.
I hide him in my pocket cause he’s very, very small
Germs, Germs, my invisible dog .”

When I was growing up, I really wanted a pet. A horse would have been lovely but I would have settled for a dog. We lived on a busy highway and my dad worried that a dog would get hit. He was insistent on never putting a dog on a chain and so I never got my wish. (although, my brother did get a dog. and that dog did get hit.)

Now that I’m an adult, I recognize the genius behind my parents’ logic of not giving in to my wants. When we were first married, my husband and I wandered into a pet store and wandered out with a feisty beagle puppy that we lovingly named Joseph Freckles–Joey for short. That dog was the life and death of me. He was constantly getting loose and giving me nightmares of being hit. But he was a great friend for a girl newly married in a town with no family and friends whose husband worked 12 hour night shifts. Fast forward 5 years and the same girl has a two-year old, a newborn and the high energy dog wasn’t cute anymore.

We ended up giving Joey away to some great friends who, in turn, gave him to their neighbor. He is living out his life being spoiled by a lady who needed a companion after the death of her husband and that makes my heart glad. He started his life keeping me company and will end it keeping her company.

Recently my children have started talking about how they’d really love a dog. I’m going to have to introduce them to Germs. He will be the perfect little pet for them. Then when they are grown and have homes of their own, they can decide if they want to get their own snuggly Joey.

ben&joey

Joey & Ben: best buds.

8 thoughts on “germs was the dog I always wanted

  1. Chasing Joey on Sunday mornings through your neighborhood with the Michigan people is a memory that always makes me crack UP! Even right now. Germs is a grand idea šŸ˜‰

  2. cute post!! šŸ™‚

    I had the same thing happen to me. Our cat was THE BEST companion…until Emitt was born. These poor animals and their unloyal owners šŸ™‚

  3. Oh, I loved the Germs song when I was a youngster. We still have the book. Can totally relate to the whole dog situation. Beagles are very high energy and oh my the howling!

penny for your thoughts...

