believing takes practice

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014I can’t remember a time that I wasn’t reading books. I remember reading The Cat and the Hat. I remember flipping through Where the Sidewalk Ends and laughing at the silly poems. My love of books was probably a slow, steady fall but I can clearly remember being in fourth grade and hitting the bottom–in a good way.

My fourth grade teacher is most certainly the reason I am still passionate about reading at the age of 34. She was not my favorite teacher. In fact, she kind of scared me. She was stern, a bit of a yeller and not very loving. But she would take us to “the pit” in the library and read to us. I’m sure she read more than one book that year but A Wrinkle In Time is the one I remember. With characters like Mrs. Who, Mrs. Which and Mrs. Whatsit, I was sucked in and wanted to know the ending but, at the same time, wanted the story to go on forever–always a sign of a Great book.

wrinkle in time quoteOne of the reasons why I loved my son’s first grade teacher was because she read to him.  I read to my kids.  We have books all over our house and I encourage them to read all of the time.  But I know how influential someone like a teacher is on a child.  His teacher introduced him to new stories and showed him that his mom wasn’t the only crazy lady that got excited about a good book.  I really want all of my children to have a love for reading.  I believe they will–it just takes practice.

penny for your thoughts...

