sure beats washin’ dishes

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014

“ain’t it a fine life, carrying the banner through it all!

a mighty fine life carrying the banner tough and tall.

when that bell rings we goes where we wishes.

we’s as free as fishes-sure beats washin dishes.

what a fine life-carrying the banner home free all.”

newsies

Newsies.  I. Love. This. Movie.  My poor brother.  Growing up, we would often (often=once a night or maybe every other night) check out movies from Scott’s grocery store.  They had a movie center and new movies were $1.99 but old movies were just 49 Cents!  If there weren’t any good movies and after my dad had looked over every. last. movie. in the store, we would pick out an oldie but a goodie.  Since I was the pushier older sister, I usually got my choice.  I don’t even know how many times I picked Newsies.  But I saw it enough that I had the entire movie memorized and I could even point out to you parts in the movie where the actors ‘messed up’.

Jump ahead a few years and I found myself a freshman in college with a roommate who loved music.  She introduced me to MTV and Friends.  I introduced her to Newsies and the art of being messy.  Ok my messiness really never caught on with her, but she LOVED Newsies.  We would watch the movie and sing along with the songs at the top of our voices.

I’m sure she still loves music and I’m definitely still messy.  I would much rather watch Newsies than wash the dishes.

4 thoughts on “sure beats washin’ dishes

penny for your thoughts...

