tradition.

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014

I really love musicals.  If I were to pick my favorite movie musical, it would be no contest–Fiddler on the Roof.  I don’t even remember the first time I watched the movie.  It was the one musical that we could watch as a family because my dad, who is anti-musicals, thinks it is a really good movie that just happens to be a musical.  We’ve seen it so often that we quote lines to each other.

when something ‘bad’ happens:

“dear God, if we’re your chosen people, why did you have to choose us today?”

when my mom is in a hurry:

“I am the papa of this house and I will say when we go!  Ok!  Let’s go!”

when there’s an argument:

“you’re right.  and you are right.”  how can they both be right?  “you are also right.”

I’ve seen Fiddler on the stage four times.  Once on my high school senior trip in DC.  Once during college when a friend’s little sister was in it at her high school.  Once recently at a different high school.  And the fourth time was a few years ago in Detroit.  My husband and I went with some friends to see Reb Tevye played by Chaim Topol, the actor from the movie.  It was so amazing to hear him sing live.  He was in his 70s and sounded just like he did when he was in the movie many years ago.

If someone told me the play was being performed somewhere close, I’d be there.  I don’t think I will ever get tired of seeing it.  It is my tradition.

4 thoughts on “tradition.

  1. This is one of my dad’s absolute favorites…he performed in it during h.s. and then talked about it often while I was growing up. Here’s the kicker….

    I’ve never seen it!!! My parents even own it. This will def need to be on my winter list of things to do!

penny for your thoughts...

