thank you

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014

Please enjoy this play list while I take a stroll down memory lane.

The year is 1992.  I am 13 years old and in the 8th grade.  I have just met a girl who 21 years later will still be my best friend.  We both realize we are huge fans of the Christian musician, Ray Boltz.

I spend the night at her house and even though she is a very light sleeper, she lets me listen to his cds while I am going to sleep.

My friend, Bekah, and I love going to Ray Boltz concerts.  We both have ALL of his cds and know Every word to Every song.  We are very cool.  She often tells me of how she and her family run into him and his family at tball games, at the grocery store and at MCL.  They all live in and around Muncie and so it just happens.  It isn’t that big of a town, after all.  And I am jealous.

Then one day at school, my friend, Sara, meets me at my locker and she is Very excited.

Rachel!  You’ll never guess who I saw at a funeral I was at last night!

Who?!

Ray Boltz!

What!  Are you serious?! <cue screaming…ok I wasn’t really the screaming type.>

Yes!  And I got his autograph for you!

Say what.  Yes.  She asked for his autograph at a funeral.  My 13-year-old self didn’t even care.  I had such awesome friends in middle school.

You may wonder if I still listen to Ray Boltz every night before I go to sleep.  The answer would be no.  You may also wonder if I still have his autograph.  The answer would be why yes.  Yes I do.

ray boltz

One thought on “thank you

penny for your thoughts...

