oh happy day

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014About the time I was 14 is when I started to really love music. Some of my favorite music came from movie soundtracks and I would often buy the soundtrack after seeing a movie.

Two of my favorites were Sister Act and Sister Act 2. I don’t know how you could not love this:

Or this:

Or this:

When my husband and I got married we chose Oh Happy Day&Joyful Joyful as the song for our Recessional.  It wasn’t quite as rockin’ as the video above, though.

I kind of became obsessed with Lauryn Hill and she had a song titled “To Zion” which she sang to her son. I fell in love with that name and told my husband that I would love to have twins and name them Zion and Zoe. Of course, anyone who has ever actually had twins either is now rolling her eyes or has a strong urge to slap me upside the head. When I was pregnant for the first time and found out I was going to have a boy, I rallied hard to name him Zion. My husband wasn’t getting the same lovely feelings that I had about the name. We discussed many name options and one day he called me at work and asked me what I thought about the name Benjamin. I actually really liked that name and maybe we could use Zion as a middle name. To my surprise, he agreed. Oh happy day!

4 thoughts on “oh happy day

penny for your thoughts...

