running

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014

Chariots of Fire. It is a movie that I love. It is inspiring. It is about strength, courage, love, honour. I promise that watching this movie will make you want to sign up for a race.  Or at the very least go run around your block.

When I was younger, every time I got together with my friend, Bekah, I would make her play the Chariots of Fire theme song on the piano. I loved it so much that I said it was going to be the song that I walked down the aisle to when I got married. It didn’t happen. Either my 22-year-old self had more sense than my 16-year-old self…or my 22-year-old self chickened out. Not sure which.

I ran cross-country for two years in high school.  I was not one of the best runners.  It was not the easiest thing for me–but I loved it.  Running just makes you feel alive and crossing a finish line is a feeling that can’t compare.  Over the years, I’ve run off and on and more recently I’ve gotten back into the groove.  I’m still not awesome–but I’m still in love with that feeling that rushes in at the end of a long race.

chariots of fire

4 thoughts on “running

  1. Man, I feel so uncultured compared to you! I’m learning all kinds of stuff. Haven’t seen this one either

    (BTW, we totally watched Sister Act 2 last night. So good ;))

penny for your thoughts...

