blasts from the past

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014Even though we watched a lot of movies, we didn’t watch television growing up. I never felt deprived or different but when I went to college, I was dropped head first into the culture of cable tv and I was hooked. Everything from Late Night with David Letterman to TLC’s Trading Spaces to FRIENDS to TRL and Road Rules on MTV. I was loving it all. When I got married, we chose to not get cable but we do have antennae tv and don’t get me started on how annoying it was when everything switched to digital. And while I do miss watching HGTV and the Food Network, I’m surviving with the help of Netflix. And I’m sure it is for the better because, if given the choice, my introverted self would probably ignore the outside world and all it has to offer–like fresh air.

In honor of my college years, here is a play list of songs that I loved. I’m sure they were either on TRL or I saw some pop up video about them. No matter, take them or leave them, I give you 15 of my favorite songs from my younger years.  They bring back a lot of great memories even if some of them make me say “what was I thinking?”.  ah, the sweet sweet college life.

What songs did you love from your late teens/early 20s?

5 thoughts on “blasts from the past

  1. I love learning all the funny things we have in common. As a Sophomore in college I watched my infant nephew 2 days a week while my sister-in-law was also in college. I survived ‘parenting’ an infant as a 19 year old by watching Trading Spaces ALL. DAY. LONG. I was just thinking this week how much I miss that show!

    • I was just saying how excited I was that Friends and Pioneer Woman were on Netflix. Now if Trading Spaces every comes on there, lock the house…I won’t be leaving it for days. And I have all of the dvds they ever sold…..so if you ever need a fix….

penny for your thoughts...

