a sense of humour

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014I was in Stuttgart, Germany on Christmas Day 2000 and I was getting dressed to go on a night time walk/snowball fight.  I was hanging out with a group of girls from England, Belgium and New York.  We must have been talking about British movies and someone mentioned how she thought I looked like Minnie Driver in An Ideal Husband.  Yes I had heard that before….but wait?  She’s not American?  Nope, I guess not.  And I’d never seen An Ideal Husband either.  When I got back home, I watched the movie and it instantly went on my list of favorite romantic comedies right next to Notting Hill and Four Weddings and a Funeral.  They are the romantic comedy trifecta.

What is it about British humour that I love?  The self-deprecation, the dry wit, the sarcasm, the accents.  Yes yes yes and yes.

And so if you haven’t seen these movies, please do.  But make sure your sense of humour (not to be confused with humor) is intact.

an Ideal husband

2 thoughts on “a sense of humour

penny for your thoughts...

