wait and hope

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014I once picked up a novel off of the shelf at Barnes & Noble and decided to read it because I really liked the movie.  I immediately fell in love with the story and the characters all over again–there were SO many more than were in the movie!  This crazy good book about lost me my best friend.  Bekah had a group of girls over to her home for the weekend for a bonfire and a girls weekend away.  What did I do?  That’s right…With a book in my hand, I sat in the corner and on the porch swing and on the log by the fire and, basically, ignored everyone.  And it drove her crazy.  Thankfully, she’s my friend for a reason–she’s knows I’m a crazy book girl and she still loves me.  And if I had to be honest, I’d probably do the same thing again–only I’ve not found a book that has captivated me as much since that crazy weekend when I read The Count of Monte Cristo.

I’m not going to lie.  It is a challenging book.  If the 875 pages that make it up aren’t daunting enough, the massive amount of characters should do the trick.  While reading this book, I kept saying that I should make a list so I could keep track but I didn’t want to stop reading long enough to find a pen and paper.  why yes, I am a bit lazy.  But while googling images for this blog post, I found this wonderfully fascinating sketch.  I’m not sure if it would have helped me or just confused me.  Maybe a little of both.

CountOfMonteCristoRelations.svg

Why, why, why do I love this book so much?  Here’s an excerpt from the introduction of the book that says it in better words than I can summon up:

“The sensational narrative of intrigue, betrayal, escape and triumphant revenge moves at a cracking pace.  A wealth of minor incidents and apparently disconnected events are subtly linked by Dumas’ device of using central characters from the main action as minor players in countless dramatic sub-plots.  Clues as to the significance of these disparate episodes litter the text until the final resolution.”

I’ve recommended it to many but I haven’t had anyone respond to it with the same, “Oh my goodness, this is the Best book ever!” feeling that I got when I finished it.  But I’m sure I will find someone one day–as the Count says, all I have to do is “wait and hope.”

penny for your thoughts...

