i heart snape

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014I was 17 the year the first book was published.  I was 27 the year the last book was published.  I remember watching, on Oprah, an interview with the editor who “discovered” the author and her fantastic novel.  I was 22 when I flew to London and the in-flight movie based on the first book was playing…and I stopped watching after the first five minutes because I thought it seemed lame.  And so.  I found myself wondering at the ripe ole age of 29 with the entire series of books being published and the movie based on the final book about to premiere, “What is all the fuss about?”

I sauntered two and half blocks to the library and looked on the computer and the first book was available.  I checked it out.  Took it home.  Read it.

I’ll be honest.  I didn’t think it was the Best book I’d ever read but I was intrigued.  The book was definitely better than the five minutes of movie that I’d watched seven years earlier.

So I sauntered back to the library to return the book and, lo and behold, the second book wasn’t available.  oh no!  Well.  I ended up borrowing the rest of the series from my darling niece and I read them.  By the time I got to books four and five, I was hooked!  What happens to Ron and Hermione?!  Is Snape good or is Snape bad?!  What is with Harry and Dumbledore?!  Are his parents Really dead?!  Why had I waited so long to read these books?!  I finished all of the books, went to walmart and bought all six of the movies for a great deal and watched them.  And now.  I had to wait for the last movie to come out.  oh bother.

I did finally see the last two movies (annoying when they split a book up into more than one movie…so so annoying) and I ended up buying them both at the walmarts to complete my set.

While not the most avid fan, I’ll admit, I did reread the entire series this past summer followed, again, by watching the movies.  I still loved them all.  It had been a few years and, while I remembered that Snape wasn’t a completely horrible guy, I couldn’t remember what his deal was.  I may have even googled him to find out the ending because I couldn’t take it.  Of course, now I’ll never forget how much I big fat heart Severus Snape.

harry potter

penny for your thoughts...

