funky bones

Welcome to 31 days of Media Memories.  If you’re scratching your head because you have no idea what I’m talking about, start here.

31 days 2014I’ve been in a book club for the past three years that meets once a month at different homes.  The hostess for the month always has three or four book selections and we vote on our favorite and that’s the book we read for that month.  It was exactly two years ago during the month of October that we found ourselves at, my friend, Julie’s home.  Julie had just recently joined book club and this was the first time we were meeting at her house.  She had three book choices for us.  One of them was a book about kids who have cancer.  Oh yes please…or not.  We had just finished The Secret Life of Bees and were really wanting something a little more lighthearted.  So we ended up choosing a book called Summerland, but honestly, it was not memorable and I can’t tell you what it was about.

Fast forward seven or eight months and we are at another book club meeting and I’m telling everyone about this Wonderful book I’ve just read.

This book was by an author that my friend, Emily, talked about on her blog.  The author lives in Indy and she highly recommended him and so I thought I’d go check out his book.  I remember looking all over the library for it and then I looked on the computer and realized it was a young adult novel.  Once I was in the right section of the library, I found it right away.  (and oh, young adult novels….boy was that a rabbit hole that I fell into and have not yet found my way out.)

So I’m telling everyone about this great book and how it is based in Indy and there are two main characters and they meet at a cancer support group and yes I know it sounds depressing but I promise it is really good and they talk about going to the IMA and to Castleton Mall and they visit Holland and it is just so so so good and I tell everyone that they should read it….deep breath…

And then Julie looks at me and says, “I Told you about that book and No One wanted to read it!”

“Oh, Really?  I don’t remember.  Sorry.  Well it really is good!”

“I KNOW!”

The moral of this story is three-fold:

1.  If Julie says a book is good, you should probably read it because in 2 years time it will be a huge best seller and probably a hit movie.

2.  You should also probably read The Fault in Our Stars. (In case you didn’t catch on, that’s the book I’ve been talking about…..and the movie is pretty great, too.)

3.  Go visit the IMA.

039

4 thoughts on “funky bones

  1. You kept telling me about this book. I read it in two days on the way to SD this summer, not talking to Tad most of the way. Poor guy. AND – I just watched the movie this past weekend. I was a blubbering mess. LOVED LOVED LOVED both the book and movie!

penny for your thoughts...

