My Reads: Sept/Oct 2014

sept 2014

 

Blogging every day in October gave me no time to do my September book review.  Not that you missed a lot.  I read a sparse three books that month.  I really enjoyed two of the three.  And poor Jen Hatmaker’s book, Interrupted, was just a little repetitive for me after reading her book 7…which was so much better.

Most Favorite:  Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline–a great historical fiction wins almost every time with me.

Least Favorite:  Interrupted by Jen Hatmaker

OCTOBER:
I really enjoyed the books I read this past month.  I finally finished a million little ways and it did not disappoint.  If you have a creative soul or if you think you don’t have an artistic bone in your body, this book is for you.  I also have been watching Gilmore Girls non-stop since it came to Netflix and reading Lauren Graham’s novel was just icing on the cake.

oct 2014Most Favorite:

Fiction:  Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys–a gripping story of a Lithuanian girl and her family’s struggles of being deported during world war 2.  historical fiction for the win.

Non-Fiction:  A Million Little Ways by Emily P. Freeman–the subtitle is ‘discovering the art you were made to live’.  An excerpt from goodreads–“She invites regular people to see the artistic potential in words, gestures, attitudes, and relationships. Readers will discover the art in a quiet word, a hot dinner, a made bed, a grace-filled glance, and a million other ways of showing God to the world through the simple human acts of listening, waiting, creating, and showing up. ”  Her chapter on what our critics look like was especially wow for me.

Least Favorite:  This was hard to choose since I liked them all.  But with a mere 3 stars our of 5 on my goodreads account, I’ll go with Austenland by Shannon Hale.  A bit fluffy but not a horrible book.

What books have you loved recently?  I’m in a bit of a book lull and would love some recommendations!

2 thoughts on “My Reads: Sept/Oct 2014

penny for your thoughts...

