Choosing Joy

My friend, Laura, spoke at my moms’ group this morning on ways to choose joy no matter the circumstances in your life. At the end of her talk, she told us to ask those around us–“Am I a joyful person?”

We went around in my small group and one of us said that, yes, she was a ‘Pollyanna’ and two of the girls weren’t sure but we thought they were and the rest of us said we were more ‘realists’.

So while making supper this evening, this is the conversation I had with my husband.

“Would you say that I am a joyful person?”
“No, not really.”

“Well, would you say that I am a happy person?
“Yes, most of the time.”

“Can you name anyone that you would consider joyful?”
“Laura Leichty and Dana Hoopingarner.”

“Oh yes, I agree.  Would you say Rachel or Steph are joyful?”
“Well I guess there is a sliding scale.”

“Right. No one can really compare to Dana.  What about Joy M.?”
“Yeah, I don’t know her very well but she seems to be the type of person who is happy and wants to tell everybody about it.”

“That’s the thing then, isn’t it? I’m happy. I just don’t necessarily want to tell anyone.  Would you say my  mom is joyful?”
“Your mom is just loud.”  (we love you mom! :)….)

“Can I put this conversation on facebook?”
“I don’t care.”

Don’t you just love the joyful people in your life?  Even those that are on a “sliding scale” 🙂  What about you?  Do you consider yourself a joyful person?

9 thoughts on “Choosing Joy

    • To elaborate, he used his hands to signify the scale and I will say that you and Steph were ranked more joyful than I was ranked, but less so than Laura, Dana, and Joy.
      **shrugging shoulders**

penny for your thoughts...

