My Reads::November 2014

What happens when I do two craft shows back to back weekends and don’t start sewing my product until the week before? Well. I don’t get a lot of books read. And now I know.

november 2014Least Favorite: What Jamie Saw by Carolyn Coman–2 stars. I didn’t care for the topic. It seemed a little dark for a children’s book. It was well written and I know abuse is common and should be talked about, but I guess it just wasn’t something I really wanted to read.

Middle of the road: The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay–3 stars (my most given rating). This was a book club read. I enjoyed it, but felt like the teenagers in the story were a lot cooler than I ever was.  Parts of their lives seemed so unrealistic, but I’m sure there are a lot of people like the characters in the story.

Most Favorite: Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko–4 stars. Another children’s book but I really enjoyed this one. An interesting look at a boy in the 1930’s who has an older sister who is autistic (although not diagnosed at that time). Heartbreaking at times and also uplifting at others. I highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “My Reads::November 2014

penny for your thoughts...

