Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

top ten tuesday mediumhosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I looked through my list on goodreads and compiled all of the books that I rated 4 or 5 stars (not including books that were re-reads).  Amazingly enough, when I was done I had a list of ten.  Perfect for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday.  So, without further ado, here is my list.

wonder10.  Wonder by R.J. Palacio:  A story about a boy who is the new kid at school…and oh, he has a facial deformity.  This quick read made me laugh and cry and think and I loved it.

unwind9.  Unwind by Neil Shusterman:  A dystopian story just different enough from the rest that made me give it 4 stars.  It is creepy, and scarily enough, close to the reality of our world.

a million little ways8.  A Million Little Ways by Emily P. Freeman:  This book took me forever to finish but I’m so glad I did.  If you ever wonder if you are enough, you should read this book.  You were made by an over the top creative God and you can live out ‘art’ in a million little ways you never knew existed.

orphan train7.  Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline:  I had no idea that orphans were rounded up off of the streets of large cities and sent west by train to be placed in different families’ lives.  Many of these young children were seen as free help.  This book follows the story of a modern day girl who is ‘aging out’ of the foster care system and an elderly lady whose was one of the children sent west on an orphan train.

attachments6.  Attachments by Rainbow Rowell:  Friends who email each other at work.  And the guy whose job it is to make sure people are only emailing for work purposes….and then he falls in love with one of the girls.  This took me back to my college days where I emailed my friends constantly.  I just loved this book.  And pretty much any book by this author.  I think it is the hopeless romantic in me.

al capone5.  Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko:  Alcatraz Island.  A boy with an autistic older sister who he is fiercely protective of and also annoyed with at times.  He is dealing with changing schools and friends and just regular life and it made me laugh, cry and wonder.  I loved this book.

between shades of gray4.  Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys:  An unfortunate title for a marvelous story.  The story of a girl named Lina and how her family is torn apart and taken from her home in Lithuania to the coldest part of the earth (practically the north pole).  This story describes the horrors that occurred during the second world war to people who I never realized were affected.

the giver3.  The Giver by Lois Lowry:  Since the movie came out, everyone knows this story, right?  It is a dystopian book written before dystopian books became cool.  Don’t know why it took me to the year 2014 to read it.     

the nesting place2.  The Nesting Place by Myquillin Smith:  More than just a decorating book.  She gives you permission to make your house a home and truly Live where you are right now.  For goodness sake, make a nail hole and hang something on your wall.

sarah's key1.  Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay:  Another WWII story.  This book journeys between Paris 1942 and Paris 2002 and tells of the story of the Vel’ d’Hiv’ roundup.  A gripping tale of resilience.  I had never heard this part of Europe’s history and the author told it very well.

What was your favorite book from this year?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

  1. Just re-read “A Prayer for Owen Meany” by John Irving. Loved it the first time I read it and enjoyed it again. Irreverent in so many ways, but such clever writing and it has flow from one sentence to another. Comes full circle.

penny for your thoughts...

