Ten Books I’d Love to Read with My Book Club

top ten tuesday mediumhosted by The Broke and the Bookish

These are some of my favorite books that I’d love to discuss with someone else.  Did you love it like I did?  If not, what parts did you not like?  Were you surprised at that one part?  Did you cry during that one chapter?

Here are ten books that I’d love to discuss in book club…in no particular order.

the count1.  The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas::This book is so long and I’d probably have to pay the other members in my book club to read it.  But still–it would make such great discussion on revenge and justice and love.

jane eyre2.  Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte::Maybe I could squeeze this classic in and we could discuss whether it is a better story than Pride and Prejudice.

a wrinkle in time3.  A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle::Simply because the science makes my head hurt/makes me smile all at the same time.  Do you think a tesseract is really real?  And if not real, then could it still be possible?

madman4.  Madman by Tracy Groot::In the books of Mark and Luke, there is a story of a devil-possessed man who had an encounter with Jesus.  Jesus cast the devils out and they went into a herd of pigs which jumped off a cliff into the sea.  This book is the story of the man and his life before he met Jesus.  It is compelling, horrific and, yet, full of hope.

guernsey5.  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer&Annie Barrows::Written entirely in letter form, this book tells the story of a small island off the coast of England that was occupied by Germany during WW2.  Amidst the horror of that war, this book is charming and full of interesting characters.  I just want everyone to read it and love it as I did.

unwind6.  Unwind by Neil Shusterman::If you love dystopian literature, you should read this.  And then we can have an interesting, and maybe even uncomfortable, conversation about abortion and our society and all the horrors that occur on this earth.

unbroken7.  Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand::By now, you’ve either read the book, watched the movie or heard of the story from a friend.  If not, then read the book, watch the movie or ask a friend about the story.  And then let’s talk about it.

the middle place8.  The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan::A favorite auto-biography of mine.  Kelly talks about her close relationship with her dad, her battle with cancer and how she is stuck in that ‘middle place’ between child-hood and grandparent-hood.  And she does it all with humor.

three weeks9.  Three Weeks with My Brother by Nicholas Sparks::Another favorite auto-biography.  If you love Nicholas Sparks or if you do Not love Nicholas Sparks, I want you to read this book and see if your view has changed or if you were amazed at his life story as I was.

the invention of wings10.  The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd::I read this book and loved it so so so much that I ended up reading all of the books that the author read in her research.  Our book club almost read it until we realized the wait list at the library was over 100 people long.  Maybe we’ll get around to reading it this year.

What books do you think would make good book club books?  And if you’re not in a book club, but would like to join one—let me know and we can talk!

8 thoughts on “Ten Books I’d Love to Read with My Book Club

  1. I love that you put classics on your list. I also love Jane Eyre. It’s just fantastic.

    Great list. In specific, I think that I was Here (anything Foreman) would be a great pick. Thanks for sharing. Thanks for sharing.

    I accidentally did next week’s post on accident, but still check it out please. mine’s here

    • Thanks Danica! I looked at your list and admit that I’ve not heard of any of those authors. It just goes to show how we will never run out of books to read! 🙂

penny for your thoughts...

