You’ve Got a Friend in Me

first picThe challenge of this art assignment was to find a friend, take a formal portrait of that person in his or her home, and define what is a real friend.  I decided I’d like to tackle this assignment but I wasn’t sure of the definition of a portrait photo.  After asking a photographer friend and having her explain it to me, she then went one step further and said I could borrow her camera.  And so, uh yeah, I took her up on the offer.  I decided to stick with my facebook friend list and I quickly made up a list of people who I knew I could photograph in the time that I had the camera on loan.  And then I thought I’d try to get as many other facebook friends to message me their pictures.  (This is where I learned not to send a standard message to all of your fb friends at one time.  fb will think you are a virus and kick you off.  lesson learned.)

Thank you to everyone that sent in their pictures to me without really having a clue as to what I would do with them.  Thank you to all of you that let me crash your homes to take a picture with no other explanation than the vague…”it is for my blog”.  And thank you Jenna for letting me borrow your camera.

You are all a lot more trusting than I.  You are also giving, adventurous and really photogenic 🙂

One of my favorite hymns, what a friend we have in Jesus, has a line in it that says:

“Can we find a friend so faithful 
who will all our sorrows share? 
Jesus knows our every weakness; 
take it to the Lord in prayer.”

I can often feel isolated (this happened a lot when my kids were younger) and feel as if everyone has close friends except for me.  I think that is one of the reasons I love that hymn because it reminds me that Jesus is just a short prayer away.  But what about those times when you need to see someone face to face.  These are the friendships we all seek and even though we may have hundreds of facebook friends we would be satisfied with one person who would sit and listen and talk with us…at least, I know that’s what I prefer.

And so what is a real friend?  I think it has a lot to do with being genuine, being a part of a person’s life on a regular basis and being able to laugh and cry together.  Spoiler alert–it really has nothing to do with being accepted by someone on facebook.

Honestly, I like Webster’s definition because it is short and concise.

friendBut click play, listen to the music and scroll down to see what everyone else had to say…

Becky collageBekah collageBekah M collageBeth collagecarissa collage cindy collageDana collageDanielle collageDiane collageJenna collageJessica collage Joan collage Julie collage Leann collage Lily collage Melissa collage Rachel collage Rose collage Sarah collage sonia collageStef collageSteph collageWhat is your definition of a real friend?

Feel free to leave a comment OR send me a picture of your definition on a post it note and I’ll add it to this post.

A Huge thank you, once again, to everyone that participated in this art assignment.  It was a lot of fun and I loved reading your post-its.

ps.  my favorites are Carissa’s and Jessica’s…because they both made me laugh 🙂

2 thoughts on “You’ve Got a Friend in Me

  1. oh my word! This was SUCH a neat post, Rachel! Thanks for sharing.

    I think to sum up everyone’s definitions: a friend is someone who loves you despite your “stuff”. Couldn’t believe how many said that!

    This brightened my day! 🙂

penny for your thoughts...

