For the Love of the Flop

Today:  51.  Tomorrow:  54.  Friday:  56.

That is the weather forecast.  And when the temperature is only four degrees away from 60 it is high time the flip-flops are pulled out, dusted off and slid on to your feet.  High time, I tell you….high time!

056The picture above makes me laugh every time I see it.  It is from summer vacation last year.  It was a really windy day and, while walking out to the light house, Emily lost one of her flip-flops.  I wanted to toss the other one away but she acted as if I was committing murder when I suggested it.  So we kept the one lone purple flop.  And we still have it.

I understand her obsession.  I have a great fondness for flip-flops.  They are so comfortable and so easy and effortless to just slip on.  The kids and I are already talking about the five extra minutes of sleep we can get in the morning once the weather warms up because we won’t have to put on coats, shoes and socks.  I am not even kidding.

I never wore flip-flops when I was younger because my toenails were super out of whack.  When I got married (and thus got some great insurance!), I was able to take some medicine and my nails cleared up.  Ever since then, I’ve loved going barefoot and enjoyed wearing sandals for as long as the weather allows (which for me is at about the 50 degree mark).  Two years ago, I had a really bad case of plantar fasciitis and, once again, couldn’t wear my beloved flip-flop.  That was a rough summer…I think for most of us we really take walking without pain for granted.  Last summer, my feet were back to normal and I went back to wearing my many different colored Old Navy flip-flops.  But I don’t want to ruin my feet.  And so, I think the time has come.  I’ve been researching and Chaco sells really great, supportive shoes.  And they have flip-flops.  This is the year that I splurge and break my $2.50 budget and get myself some high quality flip-flops.  My feet will thank me and I will still have the easiness of just slipping on my shoes in the morning.

It is all for the love of the flop…and, you know, the sleep.  Gotta get that extra five minutes in.

3 thoughts on “For the Love of the Flop

    • My mom has the white rule, too. I’ve been ignoring it for years. She also is concerned with my feet being cold every month out of the year except July.

  1. As someone currently dealing with plantar fasciitis, please DON’T go back to wearing the basic flip-flops! I do have a pair of skeecher flip-flops that have an awesome built-in arch support. I wear them in the house but not for walking outdoors. My podiatrist recommended Powerstep® ProTech Full Length orthotics. They’ve been a great help inserted in my Easy Spirit Instep Womens Sneakers. Both can be ordered on Amazon. While looking for the Easy Spirit’s, I read comments and found recommendations from some other PF sufferers for other shoes and sandals. Take care of your feet. PF has changed how much I walk. Looking forward to walking distances pain-free once again.

penny for your thoughts...

