My Reads::February 2015

feb 2015Last month was short even though it always feels like the longest month known to man in the history of ever.  However, I read a lot of good books so I survived.

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom–saw the movie when I was younger but had never read the book.  It was wonderful.  Need some perspective on your life?  Feeling like you’re fighting to be grateful?  Read this book.

Atlantia by Ally Condie–read this for book club.  It is basically the story of Atlantis and The Little Mermaid.  It wasn’t a horrible story but it also wasn’t mind-blowing.  I felt ‘eh shoulder shrug’ about it when I finished.  How’s that for a rave review?

The False Prince, The Runaway King, The Shadow Throne by Jennifer A. Nielsen–a trilogy recommended to me by a couple of librarians.  And I loved it.

Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks–a story about a young woman during the 17th century in England and what happens to her small town when the plague hits.  This book has so many redeeming qualities….and then the end of the book came and I almost threw it across the room.  ugh.  I can’t stand bad endings.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr–this story follows a young blind girl who lives in nazi occupied Paris and a young boy who is a part of hitler youth.  I loved this book, too.

Least favorite:  Atlantia

Most favorite:  The Hiding Place

Did you read anything last month that you would recommend?

4 thoughts on “My Reads::February 2015

  1. LOVE the Hiding Place! So glad you read it. Did not know there was a movie?!
    I read Reshaping Your Life by Candace Cameron Bure (DJ!!!) and I really enjoyed her encouragement that our struggles (she spoke about food, mainly) are really spiritual and working on that aspect of it. Not well written though, in my humble opinion. Easy to skim!
    I just started Counter Culture by David Platt. It is intense.

    • I’m sure the library has the movie.
      Was Counter Culture Platt’s first book? I feel like I’ve heard people talk about it…or I assumed you’d already read all of his stuff.

  2. We did Year of Wonders in my book club a couple of years ago and we hated the ending too; it just wasn’t credible. But the rest of the book is so interesting and so well-written. She should have stopped sooner!

penny for your thoughts...

