Top 10 or 11 Beach Reads

top ten tuesdayhosted by The Broke and the Bookish

The last time I did a Top Ten Tuesday was in February.  So yes.  It has been awhile.  This week’s list is ten books that would make a good beach read and/or ten that you want to read at the beach this summer.  So this will be a little mix….a few I’ve read and a few I want to read.  (although, not promising I will wait to be on a beach.  and, also, let the record show that reading on the beach would be better than reading anywhere else.  so really I could just pick ten books.   but anyway, I get the point and I think you do, too….and now I will get on with it.)

10. Yes, Please! by Amy Poehler–I haven’t read this book but I have it on loan at the library. It could be awhile so there’s a good chance I could end up reading this on the beach. I’ve heard it isn’t the same as Bossypants but as long as you don’t go in with those preconceptions, it is a good read. Well, duh, it is Amy Poehler.

9. Nobody’s Cuter than You by Melanie Shankle–I’ve read her other two memoirs about motherhood and marriage and loved them both. She’s hilarious and insightful. This one is about friendship and I can’t imagine how it could go wrong.

8. Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple–This novel is written in letter/email/text form. The family is quirky and funny and I’ve not read a plot like it in quite some time. It is heartwarming but not so much so that you’ll be sobbing into the sand.

7.  Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan–I picked this book out of Modern Mrs Darcy’s summer reading list.  She says she had this book sent to her 3 or 4 times to read (sidenote:  what can I do to get people to send me books to read?) and she finally read it and wished she’d read it sooner.  A girl lives above a shop which she’s turns into a bakery on an island off the coast of England.  Um, yes please?!

6. The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica–Also from MMD’s summer reading list.  It is described as Kate Middleton fan fiction.  I’m not sure there could be a more perfect beach read.

5. Paper Towns by John Green–If you haven’t read this yet and you like the YA genre, then what are you waiting for?  The movie comes out in July.  It is about kids on a road trip.  It is funny.  The end.

4. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins–Another YA book.  This one is full of teenage love angst and it is set in Paris.  I wanted to go back to high school but in another country while reading this…..and who in their right mind really wants to go back to high school?  It was super entertaining.

3.Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham–I loved this book and thought maybe it was because I was just coming off of my Gilmore Girls netflix binge.  But then I saw the book on the summer beach reads table at Barnes & Noble….and if the professionals agree with me then surely I’m not wrong.

2.Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen–Because there needs to be one classic.  And because this is one of the few books that is good when reread.  And because.

1a.Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling–I read this a few summers ago.  It is hilarious.  She has another book coming out in September and I think it will be equally delightful.  (and she’s working on a children’s book with B.J. Novak, too!–if you haven’t read his book, The Book With No Pictures, go buy it and read it to the next child you see.  His/her parents might think you’re weird but the kid will love the book, I promise.)

1b.  The Rosie Project by Graeme Simpson–I just finished this book on a boat yesterday and had to add this to the list.  I wasn’t paying attention and am now sun burnt–that’s how absorbed in the story I became.  If that’s not a good recommendation for a beach read, I don’t know what is.

Name one book that you’ve read on a beach, that you are going to read on a beach, that is about the beach or that you’ve read and loved recently…..obviously, I’m not picky.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 or 11 Beach Reads

  1. I just read Paper Towns. Next on my John Green list is Waiting for Alaska. His endings always make me upset in some way, so I’m waiting before I get to that one. P&P is a classic for a reason. It’s timeless. My all-time favorite novel. Great list!

penny for your thoughts...

