Top Ten Books of 2015

top ten tuesday

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is easy–pick your ten favorite books from this year so far.  And is it insane that we’ve already blown through six months of the year 2015?!  I don’t even know how it is possible.  So.  If you ask me for 10 books that I’ve read this year, I’d probably stare blankly at you…thank goodness for goodreads!  After checking my list, this is what I realized.  While I haven’t read as many books as I did last year at this point, the books that I have read have been really good…for the most part. And I tried to put them in some sort of order but know that I gave all of these books 4 or 5 stars out of 5.

10.) Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple::We are reading this book for book club this month based on my recommendation.  It is quirky and fun and has a bit of a twist.  And the book cover is cool.

9.) Whistling Past the Graveyard by Susan Crandle::I love a good historical fiction novel.  This one is set in Mississippi in 1963 and is told from the view of a 9 year old girl.  She’s innocent and wise and I loved reading her story.

8.) The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion::I read this book last month and still hope lots of people read it and will like Don Tillman, genetics professor, as much as I did.

7.) Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery::You’ve heard of Anne with an E, right?  But have you heard of Emily?  I hadn’t until right before Christmas and then had to have this trilogy.  I’m in the middle of the second book right now, but it is safe to say that Emily will be loved in this house for many years.

6.) The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen::Need a good book?  Ask a librarian.  It isn’t just a catchy saying.  I was told about this trilogy and read all three books as soon as I could get them.  (Tip:  If you’re checking them out from the library, put them all on hold at once.  It isn’t fun waiting after finishing that first book.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.)

5.) All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr::This is another historical fiction story set in France during WWII.  It goes back and forth between two characters.  If you think you’ve read every possible WWII story, you’re wrong.  This one was interesting and was written beautifully.

4.) Okay For Now by Gary D. Schmidt:: Ok, I’m just going to go on record and say if Gary wrote it, I’ll read it.  This is the first of three books by his on this list and I have only three more to go.  He is a wonderful story-teller.

3.) Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom::This book should probably be in a category all on it’s own.  If you have problems with forgiveness or understanding God’s sovereignty….read this book if you haven’t already.  If you don’t have those problems, read this book anyway.  If you wake up every morning, you need to read this book.

2.) Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt::Historical fiction based on an event of which I’d never heard.  This book was the first that I read by Schmidt and it was not disappointing.

1.) Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt::Wonderful story.  I’d read it again right now and I can’t wait until my kids are a little older so they can read it, too.

Aren’t books wonderful?!  I love how they can transport you to places and times you haven’t experienced or may not have even heard about and make you feel empathy, joy, sorrow, love and excitement.

How would you rate the books you’ve read so far this year?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books of 2015

penny for your thoughts...

