My Reads::The Best of 2015

Two years ago I decided to keep track of the books I read.  I use goodreads because it is the easiest way for me to keep track and I can also give each book a star rating.  I’d love to someday take enough time to write what I did or didn’t love about each book, however, I know myself and the more complicated something is the less likely I am to keep doing it.  So goodreads and blog recaps work for me for now.

I read 43 total books in 2015 and from the above pictured here are my top ten (or so) favorites.

Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt::Schmidt became one of my favorite authors in 2015.  This was the first book of his that I read, it’s based on true events and if you like juvenile fiction you must read it.

Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery::If you’ve read her Anne books, you’ll like her Emily books.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr::Possible my favorite from last year…along with everyone else in the world.  This book is beautifully written.

The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer A. Nielsen::Recommended to me by the children’s librarians.  If you love trilogies but want something that’s not as gritty as the popular dystopians, this series is wonderful.

The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom::If you haven’t read this yet.  Stop everything and do.  Or listen to the audio book.  Or watch the movie.  Just know the story.

The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt::Schmidt again.  So so so good.

Whistling Past the Graveyard by Susan Crandall::If you read Go Set a Watchman and found yourself disappointed, read this book.  The young girl reminded me of Scout.

Where’d You Go Bernadette? by Maria Semple::funny and awkward and weird….these are a few of my favorite things.

Okay For Now by Gary D. Schmidt::Schmidt can’t quit.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion::This probably is in my top three of last year.  It is funny, heartwarming, science-y, and a love story all wrapped together.

Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos::I just remember it being really interesting.  Too many books.  Not enough notes.  If you’ve read all the other fiction books above and want a recommendation, read this.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty::Everyone loves What Alice Forgot by Moriarty.  Except me.  But this one I really liked.  I like a good mystery.

Nobody’s Cuter Than You by Melanie Shankle::I love all of her books.  This one is non-fiction and is about friendship.  I received it as a bridesmaid gift.  If you like memoir-ish books, read this one with a friend.

Have you read and loved any of the same books?  Or what were your favorites from last year?  I’m always looking for recommendations!

 

3 thoughts on “My Reads::The Best of 2015

  1. I read a few books from your list and I absolutely loved them. Where’d You Go Bernadette was great, I am currently reading The Girl On the Train and for sure I want to read All the Lights We Cannot See. I would recommend The Book Thief, Nit That Kind of a Girl by Lena Dunham and Biography of Harper Lee 😊

    • Thanks for the recommendations! I have read and absolutely loved The Book Thief. I’ve also heard great things about the Harper Lee biography. I’ll have to add that to my list.

penny for your thoughts...

