Why I Love Monday Mornings

IMG_5619Mondays.  Ugh.  Mornings. Ugh.

But…

Every Monday morning, I get to go into my children’s school and help out in the classroom and help the teacher’s with whatever they need done.  Now I’ll admit, there are some Mondays where I’d rather go back to bed after dropping my kids off at school.  Or I’d rather go to a class at the Y.  Or I’d rather go to Fort Wayne and buy chocolate.

And then I have a day like today and I’m reminded why I love going in.

I was reading with Alex’s class and while reading with a group of four kids at their reading center, I asked one to sit down. He told me no.  I was kind of surprised but immediately said, excuse me?  He said, no…I like standing up better.  I told him that was fine and he could ask to stand but I do not tolerate direct disobedience.  At that time, it was time for this group of four to move on to a different center and so off they went and I had another group of four children.

In Emily’s kindergarten class, they did testing last week.  Today for about 30 minutes, I helped a boy and a girl catch up on their tests that they missed last week.  The little boy was having such a hard time focusing on filling in his little circles and after about eight questions we’d stand up and stretch and then keep going.  Don’t even get me started on how much it frustrates me that our 5 and 6 year old children are required to do testing.

But….

When done with the test, this little boy looked at me with big brown eyes and said, “Thanks for helping me, Emily’s mom.”  melt my heart.  And then I walked with him to lunch and he told me all about his t-ball team.

And then when I went to drop off papers to Alex’s teacher, she told me that the boy who told me no went up to her with tears in his eyes and said , “I told Mrs. Maggard no and so I need to move my clip.”  I’ll be giving him a hug the next time I see him.

And so, I get it.  Teachers have really tough jobs.  20+ children, 5 days a week, 9 or 10 months out of the year.  Man that’s a lot of work.  But those little kids are so precious.  So so precious.

PS.  I was working in Emily’s room today and they were sharing what they did this weekend.  I heard her tell her teacher that she went to church and then to her dad’s funeral.  Then she corrected herself and said her dad’s aunt’s funeral.  I was in the corner laughing so hard.  We went to my husband’s great-uncle’s viewing yesterday.  Emily slept on the funeral home’s couch the entire hour and fifteen minutes that we were there…explains why she’s a little foggy on the details but she still wanted to share!

4 thoughts on “Why I Love Monday Mornings

  1. I love this and it made me teary…teachers are amazing!! And Emily’s story of her weekend made me laugh out loud 🙂

penny for your thoughts...

